Salaam Shalom Peace

Welcome!!

Bread delivery, early morning - Old City, Jerusalem - May 2009

Welcome to this blog for kids and youth about kids and youth in Israel-Palestine! About two years ago, I started on an adventure with friends that took me to Egypt, Jordan, and Israel-Palestine. On that trip, I met young people of all ages doing the kinds of things that kids and teenagers do in Canada. Going to school, taking dance classes, playing soccer, working part-time. Some of the ways that they did these things were similar to what happens in Canada, for example, swinging on swings and taking ballet lessons. Some things were different from what I’ve experienced in Canada. For example, riding a camel on a beach and carrying a tray of hot bread down a narrow street…on one’s head!!

This winter, I will be returning to Israel-Palestine and I am looking forward to meeting more young people. I look forward to hearing about what makes life fun and what makes it hard as they live in a place that does not have peace.  I will be participating through the United Church of Canada in the World Council of Churches’ Ecumenical Accompaniment Programme in Palestine and Israel .

Come along by following this blog as I journey and listen to the voices and the stories of the young people who are living under occupation.

Welcome!

Marhaban   مرحبا

Welcome!

barux haba! בָּרוּךְ הַבָּא! 

Comments on: "Welcome!!" (1)

  1. vanessa vanderkooi said:

    Peace be with you in your Journey!! What an awesome opportunity you have!! The children will be blessed by your presence there!! We will be thinking of you!! Look forward to your blogs.

Leave a comment